Press release 15/2018

May 26, 2018


Serge Cazaux and Maxime Vilmot, winners of the 10th Rally de Asturias Histórico

The French team formed by Serge Cazaux and his co-driver Maxime Vilmot have achieved the final victory in the tenth edition of the Historic Asturias Rally on board a Ford Sierra Cosworth 4x4. After the dispute of eleven sections and under very adverse weather conditions, Serge Cazaux inscribes his name in the record of the Spanish event accompanying other riders of the stature of Manuel Antonio García, Pablo López or the Italians "Pedro" and "Lucky" .

From the first stage, Cazaux and Toivonen have maintained a hard fight for the final victory, finishing the first stage separated only by two tenths of a second. Battle that has continued in the day today, but a Toivonen road trip in the second pass for the Pravia special damaged the Ford Sierra Cosworth 4x4, leaving once crossed the finish line.

On board of his Ford Escort MK2, the Spaniards Jesus Ferreiro and Xavier Anido have managed to reach the second final position, standing 40.4 seconds behind the victors and overtaking the Austrians Karl Wagner and Gerda Zauner, who with their Porsche 911 SC , have qualified in the third place of the European rally.

As for the Spanish Sporting ​​Championship, Cazaux and Ferreiro are the first two positions, accompanied by Francisco López and José Souto with a Ford Escort MK1. In the Youngtimers section, the final triumph is for Daniel Mieres and Rai Fernández, with a Renault Clio Sport, followed by Javier Diez-Christian Menéndez (Honda Civic) and Jacobo García-Bartomeu Fluxa (Seat Ibiza Kit Car).

The winner of the rally in two occasions, 2011 and 2012, Manuel Antonio García, accompanied by Agustín Ramos, have achieved victory in both the National Category 5 and the Asturias Trophy, they have also been the fastest team of all teams participants in Speed, exceeding Cazaux-Vilmot by four tenths of a second.

On the other hand, the triumph in the Regularity Sport categories, both of the National and Regional, have been for José Ramón Campos and Raúl Gutiérrez with their Porsche Carrera RS. Along with them, in the National classification, there are Víctor Iglesias-David Suárez (VW Golf GTI) and Gorka Gorroño-Mikel Oleaga (Ford Escort MK2). While in second and third place of the Regional, Víctor Iglesias-David Suárez and José Manuel López-Manuel Emilio Sánchez (Ford Fiesta) have also qualified. As for Regularity, Francisco Martínez and Alejandro Lapeña added the final victory in both events on board their VW Golf GTI.


Escudería Pravia Autocompetición

Avenida del Valle, nº 6 6ºC

33120 Pravia

Principado de Asturias



Telf: (+34) 651 83 46 10

Fax: (+34) 902 00 92 03